Trying the Devuan way

Good day. There are still months for me to wait unti I receive the pro1x I have ordered. No problem - I can wait.

I have ordered it with Ubuntu. A big step forward from Android for me. But Ubuntu is stained by systemd. I do not want to start any sort of war here. I only want to state that I will not feel comfortable as long as systemd is running on my telephone. Everyone can choose the best ways to render his or her life more difficult.

In my day-to-day (I've been writing code for more than thirty years, and I use Linux for all my computer needs, both at home and at work, since 1993) Devuan is my distribution of choice. I also happen to dabble with as-barebone-as-it-gets, but that's not very appropriate for a telephone.

Devuan is everything that Debian is, except for systemd. Works wonderfully.

I do not care too much for games and social networking of any flavor, and my current phone is almost never online. I need a phone for:

• making and receiving voice calls
  • sending and receiving SMS's
  • keeping an addressbook and an agenda
  • (rarely) sending and receiving e-mails

Then,  the phone has to be a full-bodied Linux-running PC, eventually able to become a terminal, with SSH, to where I need to connect. Even the browser is not such a great need. I have to be able to turn off internet access (and even the cellphone radio, if needed) at will.

Not much, eh? The basics, that I expect the Ubuntu release included in the pro1x, and even Mobian, will be equipped with. I do not know how much of this has systemd as a prerequisite.