Dual boot or multi boot possible?

The Pro1 is announced with an unlocked or unlockable bootloader. And since I ordered my Pro1 ages ago I had the idea to have one Android system for some apps important to me AND one system which I could use for geek stuff, preferrably something like N900 Maemo .

I am pretty new to current Android versions and how it handles "disk" space. I read something like "slot a" and "slot b" .
Any chance to have two (or more) operating systems which could be choosen during boot process?

Cheers, #10248

1 hour ago, order#10248 said:

The Pro1 is announced with an unlocked or unlockable bootloader. And since I ordered my Pro1 ages ago I had the idea to have one Android system for some apps important to me AND one system which I could use for geek stuff, preferrably something like N900 Maemo .

I am pretty new to current Android versions and how it handles "disk" space. I read something like "slot a" and "slot b" .
Any chance to have two (or more) operating systems which could be choosen during boot process?

Cheers, #10248

The question/request have been raised before, and I'm no expert on this.

The A/B system as I understand it is normally used to apply new updates, so one can be flashed while the other is still active. The LineageOS setup offered use it slightly different with a recovery image in A and the main image in B

If I got it right there would also be a certification issue for stock android with multi boot. So some apps would complain. (Typically bank-apps and the like, fearing the potentially compromised security)

But in principle it should be possible.

@EskeRahn is correct, the A/B system is for updates.  Android (either stock, or Lineage when it's official) will install OTA updates to the non-active slot, then tell the boot loader to switch active slots, and then prompt you to reboot.  So no, by default, you cannot use A/B for a dual-boot system.