How do I actually uninstall Magisk/addons in order to do OTA updates?

Well since my backup backup backup backup phone decided to snap off a SIM slot pin I'm finally putting my Pro1 into service (instead of waiting for a proper case for it like I was hoping).

I'm a total noob when it comes to rooting phones, but I used (the possible original non-editied version of) this post by Craig to originally root my phone with a 20191203 firmware, and according to this post I installed 'Systemless Hosts', 'AdAway' & 'Youtube Vanced'.

I turned on my phone for the first time in a while and it showed me a prompt to update to 20191210 (...why not something newer?), I tried to run it and got a fail error 20. I remembered something about you can't update if you modify the system partition (which AFAIK those addons did) and kinda attempted to revert the Magisk installation... by uninstalling Magisk.

Naturally that did absolutely nothing, and when I reinstalled Magisk Manager I get 2 items at the top of the app to install Magisk Manager (it is already) and to install Magisk (it isn't). When I click on Magisk to install it it wants me to either download Magisk as a zip, or select a file to patch. I don't want to do either of those things I want to undo everything I did installing it & the addons so I can run the OTA updates.

...What do I do? I have the original (hopefully) pre-patched boot.img files on my SD card, but I guess reflashing those over adb won't do anything because the system is still modified with AdAway/etc. I'd appreciate a 'noob-friendly' explanation, it may help others like me in future who were stupid enough to root their phones without actually understanding how it works...

Thanks in advance.

• Like 1

Thanks, but all I gathered from that thread is I have to either wipe my phone back to stock, or reflash the system image?

Is there a way I can reinstall Magisk and then uninstall the previously installed modules?